top of page

Different Types of Lupus😮

May is Lupus Awareness Month! It's an opportunity for the lupus community to join together across the country to raise funds and awareness of the physical, emotional and economic impact of lupus. Did you know there are different types of lupus?

Types of Lupus:

Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (“SLE”)

When people use the term “lupus,” they usually refer to systemic lupus erythematosus, or “SLE.” Systemic lupus is so-named because it affects many different organ systems in the body. It is marked by chronic inflammation, especially of the kidneys, joints, and skin. The cardiovascular and nervous systems can also be affected.

Lupus Limited to the Skin

The term “chronic cutaneous lupus erythematosus” refers to a specific form of lupus that is limited to the skin. This form of lupus can exist in people who do not have systemic lupus. However, five percent or more of the people with this form of lupus may develop SLE later in life. Three types of skin lupus exist: chronic cutaneous lupus erythematosus (CCLE) (also known as Discoid Lupus Erythematosus [DLE]), subacute cutaneous lupus erythematosus (SCLE), and tumid lupus.

Drug-Induced Lupus Erythematosus

Certain drugs can actually cause lupus-like symptoms in people who do not have SLE. However, this form of lupus is temporary and usually subsides within months of the time that the medication is stopped. In addition, many drugs that cause this form of lupus are actually losing favor among physicians. Medications known to induce lupus-like symptoms in some

medications hydralazine and methyldopa, a heart medication called procainamide.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page